### **FULL COUNCIL**

# Minutes of a meeting of the Full Council held on Thursday, 19 May 2022 at 7.00 pm in The Place, Limes Walk, Oakengates, Telford, TF2 6EP

Present: Councillors S Bentley, M Boylan, A J Burford, S P Burrell, E M Callear, L D Carter, E J Carter, G H Cook, S Davies, N A Dugmore, A J Eade, A R H England, N A M England, R C Evans, J Gough, E J Greenaway, C Healy, V J Holt, M B Hosken, T L B Janke, A S Jhawar, J Jones, R T Kiernan, J E Lavery, A D McClements, R Mehta, K Middleton, L A Murray, T J Nelson, G L Offland, R A Overton, I Preece, S J Reynolds, G C W Reynolds, S A W Reynolds, H Rhodes, K S Sahota, P J Scott, J M Seymour, C F Smith, B J Thompson, W L Tomlinson, K T Tomlinson, C R Turley, P Watling, B Wennington, D R W White and D Wright

#### In Attendance:

<u>Apologies:</u> Councillors K T Blundell, V A Fletcher, I T W Fletcher, A Lawrence and M J Smith

# 194 <u>Declaration</u>

Councillor J Loveridge read the following declaration:

"Colleagues, aware of our responsibilities to promote democracy and the wellbeing of all local people, on behalf of the Council, I make this commitment to our office as elected representatives.

Elected to serve the public good, we recognise that public office is a privilege granted by the people and not a right.

We, elected representatives of the people of Telford & Wrekin, declare that we will, to the best of our ability, uphold the Council's constitution and serve the community above any private or personal interest."

Members signified their affirmation of the Declaration.

#### 195 <u>Prayers and Reflections</u>

Mr Bhupinder Gohil, from the Shri Radha Krishna Temple, said prayers.

#### 196 Election of Mayor

It was moved by Councillor K Middleton, seconded by Councillor G Offland, that Councillor R Mehta be elected as Mayor of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor R Mehta be elected as Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

Councillor Mehta's election was followed by a short acceptance address.

# 197 <u>Election of Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor C R Turley, seconded by Councillor A M McClements, that Councillor V J Holt be elected as Speaker of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor V J Holt be elected as Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

# 198 <u>Election of Deputy Speaker</u>

It was moved by Councillor S J Reynolds, seconded by Councillor E M Callear, that Councillor H Rhodes be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor H Rhodes be elected as Deputy Speaker of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

# 199 <u>Election of Deputy Mayor</u>

It was moved by Councillor K S Sahota, seconded by Councillor J Loveridge, that Councillor A England be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that Councillor A England be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Council for the municipal year 2022/23.

# 200 Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor R Mehta, was proposed by Councillor R A Overton and seconded by Councillor H Rhodes.

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the Council recorded its thanks to the retiring Mayor, Councillor A S Jhawar for his service over the 2021/22 term of office.

## 201 Reply to the Vote of Thanks

In response, the retiring Mayor thanked Members for their kind words and stated that he had been honoured and privileged to represent the borough during his two year term of office. His year had focussed on the work of community and voluntary groups and businesses within borough. He had been the first Mayor to be appointed virtually and was immensely proud of the opportunity and sacrifices people had made coming together when times were hard. He had enjoyed formally hosting Princess Anne the Lord Lieutenant and the High Sherriff to the official opening of the Silver Swallow Bridge together with the planting of a cherry tree and it was wonderful to see businesses and community groups returning to events.

The retiring Mayor had successfully raised over £8,000 to support Telford Crisis Support and the Midland Air Ambulance who had provided much needed services to the community during the last two years and he expressed thanks to all those who had supported this achievement. He particularly expressed thanks to Council staff, his deputy and the Mayoress.

# 202 <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

None.

# 203 <u>Minutes of the Previous Meeting</u>

<u>RESOLVED</u> – that the minutes of the meeting held on 3 March 2022 be confirmed and signed by the Mayor.

## 204 <u>Announcements</u>

The Leader addressed Members regarding the pandemic and the recent flooding. Telford was a great place to live and work and the place we called home. The Council had set out to protect, care and invest in the Borough and although there had been some challenging times there were many small acts of kindness and he was honoured to be elected to serve alongside selfless neighbours and volunteers who were passionate ambassadors of the community.

The Leader thanked the Teams of Telford and Wrekin Council and key workers who served the community each and every day as well as the thriving voluntary sector. Following the lifting of the pandemic restrictions the Community Pride Awards were held to celebrate the special individuals working alongside the Council to make the Borough a better place.

The Leader congratulated the individuals who had become Honorary Aldermen and Freemen of the Borough and thanked the outgoing Mayor fir his first class service. He welcomed the Councillor R Mehta to his Mayoral year and thanked the Speaker and Deputy Speaker for their continued work.

Councillor A J Eade congratulated the Mayor and Deputy Mayor on their appointments and thanked the outgoing Mayor for his hard work. He congratulated the recipients of the Honorary Aldermen and Freemen of the Borough and spoke of the hard work that had taken place during the pandemic.

Councillor W L Tomlinson thanked Councillor A S Jhawar for his hard work during his two year term as Mayor and gave his best wishes to Councillor R Mehta during his coming Mayoral term. He felt it was pertinent to remember those who had been lost over the pandemic and that a fitting memorial be given. Thanks was given to Council staff, key workers and volunteers within the community who strived to make Telford and Wrekin a better place.

The Leader expressed he was incredibly proud of the borough and he would invest care and work together to make the borough proud of their community.

### 205 Appointment of Cabinet

Councillor S Davies notified the meeting of Cabinet appointments.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that the Membership of the Cabinet, as notified by Councillor S Davies, be appointed for the municipal year 2022/23 as set out in the Leader's report.

## 206 Delegation Scheme

Councillor R C Evans, Cabinet Member for Finance, Governance and Customer Services, proposed that Council reassert the delegation scheme as detailed in the Council Constitution.

<u>RESOLVED</u> - that the discharge of Council functions by Committees as set out in the Council's Constitution dated 5 March 2020 be approved under the provisions of Section 101 of the Local Government Act 1972.

# 207 Appointment of Committees and Boards for 2022/23

Councillor S Davies formally moved the list. Cllr R Overton seconded.

RESOLVED – that the committees and bodies for the municipal year 2022/23 (including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs) be appointed as set out in the report.

## 208 Programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council

The programme of dates for ordinary meetings of the Council for the year 2022/23 would be as set out in the report.

The moderning emade at energy pro-	
Chairman:	
Date:	Thursday, 14 July 2022

The meeting ended at 8.09 pm.